Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set

"The Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set is a hierarchical code set that consists of codes, descriptions, and definitions. Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Codes are designed to categorize the type, classification, and/or specialization of health care providers. The Code Set consists of two sections: Individuals and Groups of Individuals, and Non-Individuals. The Code Set is updated twice a year, effective April 1 and October 1. The 'Crosswalk – Medicare Provider/Supplier to Healthcare Provider Taxonomy' was updated because of changes made to the Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set that will be implemented October 1, 2008. That Code Set is available from the Washington Publishing Company. The Code Set is maintained by the National Uniform Claim Committee. The Code Set is a Health Insurance Portability and Accountability (HIPAA) standard code set. As such, it is the only code set that may be used in HIPAA standard transactions to report the type/classification/specialization of a health care provider when such reporting is required."

  • Healthcare Provider Taxonomy Code Set
KOS Type
  • en
URI http://bartoc.org/en/node/18468
Homepage https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/MedicareProviderSupEnroll/Downloads/TaxonomyCrosswalk.pdf
  • 7500 Security Boulevard
  • Baltimore
  • MD
  • 21244
  • United States
Listed in
  • en